Dr. Carin Roberts-Wollman, PhD
2024 T.Y. Lin Award

Congratulations to Dr. Carin Roberts-Wollmann, PhD for being a recipient of the 2024 T.Y. Lin Award. Selected by ASCE’s Structural Engineering Institute (SEI), her paper, “Comparison of Post-Tensioned Slabs with Banded-Uniform and Banded-Banded Tendon Arrangements,” published in the ACI Structural Journal, July 2022, wonderfully exemplifies the calling and intent of this award.

Dr. Roberts-Wollman, PhD is the Professor and Associate Department Head for Graduate Studies with the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, VA. She is a Fellow of the American Concrete Institute (ACI), a Fellow of the Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (PCI), ACI Delmar Bloem Distinguished Service Award recipient, ACI Cedric Wilson Lightweight Aggregate Concrete Award recipient, and a Member of the Academy of Distinguished Alumni of the UT-Austin Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering Department. Dr. Roberts-Wollmann received her PhD and MS Degree from the University of Texas at Austin.

The T. Y. Lin award is given to authors/co-authors of meaningful published papers on topics relating to interests in, and members of, the American Concrete Institute (ACI), Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (PCI), Post-Tensioning Institute (PTI), or American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) that deal with prestressed concrete.

Dr. Gerardo Flintsch,
2024 Wilbur S. Smith Award

Congratulations to Dr. Gerardo Flintsch, PhD, PE, FASCE,  the 2024 recipient of the Wilbur S. Smith Award. The Wilbur S. Smith Award was established to honor contributions to the enhancement of the role of the civil engineer in highway engineering and in recognition of the outstanding professional accomplishments of Wilbur S. Smith, Hon.M.ASCE.

Dr. Flintsch’s “contributions to provide sustainable, resilient, and multi-functional pavement systems, using environmentally friendly technologies and practices, producing innovative design, assessment, and management solutions, and for educating a Workforce prepared to implement and deploy these innovations” is what led to his winning of this award which will be given at the International Conference on Transportation & Development in Atlanta, GA on June 17, 2024.

Dr. Flintsch is the Dan Pletta Professor of Engineering (since 2021) and the CSRI Director at the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute (VTTI) in Blacksburg, VA. More about his illustrious career is available in the release published on the site here.